An Eternally Broken Heart

MOON TALKWhen I looked into her eyes, ever so deep and wide, I saw nothing but despair;

So I took her broken heart, calloused fingers wrapped tight, hoping it weren’t beyond repair.

But in a moment of vacillation, as I mended fatal wounds,

She took me by the hand, and pleaded I not move.

“Leave me be with this here torment,” she begged of me – a voice ever so tender.

“For it’s man’s eternal pain that I’ve placed upon my shoulders;

“And if I weep and sigh – if I feel the time draws nigh,

“It is because by Morning’s splendour, your sins will not be mine.”

And it was then I understood, on that lonely and breezy night,

That life without the Moon, would be serenity denied!

Leave a Reply

